PORT SOPS DURING COVID-19 PANDEMIC – NIGHTMARE FOR LOGISTICS OPERATIONS
6
VIEWS
by Faudzy Asrafudeen
The rapid spread of Covid-19 pandemic has prompted many nations and governments to adopt a protective and preventive approach on all forms of transport, including ocean vessels, to curtail the exposure and spread of this virus. This is bound to create anxieties, uncertainties, disruption, and apprehension to the operations of the shipping companies/lines and charterers and also towards the flow of goods into the destination country. The newly introduced precautionary measure by some of the importing countries, in the face of the Covid-19 pandemic are causing serious disruption to the flow of trade. The complexities faced by ship-owners, charterers, port authorities, and governments are multi-faceted. It ranges from crewing and commercial issues and the responsibility of shipowners to provide care for seafarers and their right to demand that a vessel not call a particular port known to be infected by the Covid-19 and their refusal or reluctant to perform changeovers at ports infected by the Covid-19.
You need to login to view the report.
Questions & Answers (0) :
Please login to post Question & Answer
Login
Please login/register to view the reports.
Username:
Password:
  Forgot password?
NOT A MEMBER?
Click here to register.
For enquiries, please contact: help@pomdr.org.my
Latest Reports

Latest Reports

Our Regional Experts

USA
Mr. Zainuddin Hassan
zainuddin@mpocus.com
   
Europe
Mr. Uthaya Kumar
kumar@mpoc.eu
   
Turkey
Mr. Mohammad Hafezh
mhafezh@mpoc.org.my
   
Egypt
Mr. Mohamad Suhaili
msuhaili@mpoc.org.my
   
Ghana
Mr. Karthigayen Selva Kumar
kartik.kumar@mpocus.com
   
Pakistan
Mr. Faisal Iqbal
faisal@mpoc.org.pk
   
Bangladesh
Mr. AKM Fakhrul Alam
fakhrul@mpoc.org.bd
   
India
Ms. Bhavna Shah
bhavna@mpoc.org.in
   
China
Mr. Desmond Ng
desmond@mpoc.org.cn
   
Asia Pacific
Mr. Muhammad Kharibi
kharibi@mpoc.org.my

 

Disclaimer Close
  • Members are entitled to FREE online reports available in this website. For additional services, minimal surcharge may apply.

  • The membership to this website is only applicable to the Malaysian palm oil industry members. If you’re not a Malaysian company, please write to MPOC to be a member.

  • MPOC holds the right to refuse admission to any member as information in this website are meant only for members consumption.
Contact Us Close
Should you require further information, please feel free to email us at the following addresses:
© Copyright 2020 Malaysian Palm Oil Council. All Rights Reserved.